IEEEINEC 2025 Keynotes : Associate Chair (Research), School of Electrical & Electronic Engineering Director, Centre for OptoElectronics and Biophotonics (OPTIMUS), Wang Qijie


NTU, Singapore

Current Positions:
  • Associate Chair (Research), School of Electrical & Electronic Engineering
  • Professor, School of Electrical & Electronic Engineering
  • Professor, School of Physical & Mathematical Sciences
Biographical details

Dr. WANG Qijie received the B.E. degree in electrical engineering from the University of Science and Technology of China (USTC), Hefei China, in 2001 graduating one year in advance; and the Ph.D degree in electrical and electronic engineering from Nanyang Technological University, Singapore, in 2005, with NTU and Singapore Millennium Foundation (SMF) scholarship. After completing his Ph.D, he obtained the 2005 SMF postdoctoral fellowship working in NTU. Then he joined School of Engineering and Applied Science, Harvard University, as a postdoctoral researcher in Jan. 2007. In October 2009, he was appointed as a joint Nanyang Assistant Professor at the School of Electrical and Electronic Engineering (EEE) and the School of Physical and Mathematical Sciences (SPMS). Since Sep. 2018, he has been promoted to tenured full professor in school of EEE and SPMS, NTU. He is an OSA (the Optical Society) Fellow.

Dr. Wang has published/co-published more than 180 papers in top international journals (like Nature, Science, Nature Photonics, Nature Nanotechnology, Nature Materials, and Nature Communications) and co-authored more than 10 U.S. patents. He was the recipient of the top prize for the Young Inventor Awards of the SPIE Photonics Europe Innovation Village in 2004; a golden award from the Fifth Young Inventor’s Awards in 2005 organized by HP and Wall Street Journal; and the co-recipient of the IES (Institution of Engineers Singapore) Prestigious Engineering Achievement Team Award of Singapore Twice in 2005 and 2017, respectively, 30th World Culture Special Recognition Award 2013, the prestigious Singapore Young Scientist Award 2014, and Nanyang Research Award 2015 (Young Investigator).