IEEEINEC 2025 Keynotes:Director, Semiconductor Research Center, Hon Hai Research Institute Chair Professor, Department of Photonics, National Yang Ming Chiao Tung University, Hao-Chung Kuo


NCTU, Taiwan

Current Positions:
Director of Semiconductor Research Center, Semiconductor Research Center, Hon Hai Research Institute 


  • Ph.D., Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, University of Illinois-Urbana
  • Director, Semiconductor Research Center, Hon Hai Research Institute
  • Chair Professor, Department of Photonics, National Yang Ming Chiao Tung University
  • -20 th Y. X. Science and Technology Lecture Award (Photoelectric Engineering), Far Eastern Y. Z. Science and Technology Memorial Foundation, 2022.
  • Outstanding Engineering Professor Award, Chinese Institute of Engineers, 2021.
  • MOST Taiwan Future Technology Award, 2020.
Biographical details

Hao-Chung Kuo received the B.S. degree in physics from the National Taiwan University, Taipei, Taiwan, the M.S. degree in electrical and computer engineering from Rutgers University, New Brunswick, NJ, in 1995, and the Ph.D. degree from the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department, University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign, Urbana, in 1999. From 1993 to 1995, he was a Research Consultant in Lucent Technologies, Bell Laboratories, and from 1999 to 2001 he was a Member of Technical Staff in Fiber-Optics Division at Agilent Technologies. From 2001 to 2002, he was with LuxNet Corporation. Since October 2002, he has been a Faculty Member of the Institute of Electro-Optical Engineering, National Chiao Tung University, Hsinchu, Taiwan. His current research interests include semiconductor lasers, vertical-cavity surface-emitting lasers, blue and UV LED lasers, quantum-confined optoelectronic structures, optoelectronic materials, and solar cell. He has authored or coauthored more than 400 journal papers and holds 35 granted and 20 pending patents. 

Prof. Kuo’s service to the III-V community is multifaceted. He was elected as the Chairman of IEEE/Photonics Taipei Chapter (since 2012). In addition, he was in the Technical Program Committee for several major technical conferences for the IEEE, the OSA, and the SPIE, which include IEEE/OSA CLEO (2009 – Present), SPIE Photonics West (2009 – Present), and others. He serves as a Panel Member for Taiwan National Science Council (Photonic Program- especially in semiconductor lasers and LEDs). He was the Guest Editor of the IEEE JSTQE (2009) and was an Associate Editor of the OSA/IEEE Journal of lightwave technology (2008-2013) and Associate Editor of the OSA Photonics Research (2019-now). He was the recipient of The Optical Engineering Society of Taiwan (SPIE Taipei Chapter) – Young Researcher Award in 2007. NSC of Taiwan- Dr. Ta-You Wu Award in 2007. Faculty Research Award of NCTU in 2010, 2011. Micro-optics Conference (MOC) Contribution Award-10th MOC Program-committee Chairman (2011). He was recognized by the Photonics community and received OSA(2012), IET (2012), SPIE (2013), IEEE (2015) and IAAM Fellow (2021)